MUSHROOMS IN BORDERLAND STATE PARK

Are these mushrooms of the same variety? The photos of mushrooms on the top left and bottom right are from the same mushroom, while the mushrooms pictures on the top right and bottom left are from the same mushrooms.

My main dilemma when I walk in the woods is deciding where to look: up, down, all around?  On our recent trek to Borderland State Park on Friday, a red mushroom along the path caught my eye.

Oh! A quick Google search indicated that these two mushrooms are different kinds. The mushroom on the top right could be a Russula. The top left and bottom right photos are from the same mushroom while the bottom left photo is of a mushroom nearby. I suppose they are about the same specimen..

On the other side of the path, another variety was in full bloom.  It was then that I decided to focus on mushrooms (more or less) during that walk.

 

Again, I assumed that these mushrooms are of the same kind. The big photo and the bottom left photo belong to the same mushrooms. The bottom middle picture was a photo of a different mushroom, while the photos on the top right and middle right are of mushrooms in another cluster. I grouped these photos together because they all have the warts on the cap. I figured that the mushroom at center bottom is the baby version of the others.

After all, there had been a lot of rain in the previous days, the ground was in fact quite damp during our walk, and it was humid – just the perfect conditions for mushrooms to shoot out.

 

This looks like a yellow mushroom. However, it also has some growths on the cap. Considering that the cap is not fully opened yet, this must be a relatively young mushroom. I thought the way it was opening looked like the fume mushroom in Plants Vs. Zombies. 🙂

While I was not a mycologist, and could not identify the edible from the non-edible, even toxic varieties, I was certainly beside myself with excitement to see the park and the undergrowth loaded with mushrooms of different kinds.  I was fairly sure, however, that the colorful ones were not good for eating.

 

This mushroom was growing on an open area. It looked like a white spiky ball lying close to the ground. Could this be a Gem-studded Puffball?

For this post, I tried to group together mushrooms that look alike to me.  Feel free to give me a feedback about the correctness of the grouping.  Descriptions (and even identification, Google permitting) of the mushrooms as I have observed them in the wild were also provided in the captions.

These are very tiny mushrooms with waxy caps and growing on a decaying log.

Unfortunately,  because  I was  taking pictures as fast as I could so that my family would not leave me behind and because I did not photograph the bottom of the mushrooms, I could not provide a better description of the species posted here.

I saw and took pictures of many other mushroom variety.  However, they did not turn out well.  And I am sure there were many other types that I saw but did not think of as mushrooms, and many more in the deep woods.

This was brownish white and the cap was about 2.5 inches in diameter. This was the biggest and thickest mushroom that I found.

I hope you enjoyed this mushroom gallery. Please feel free to identify the varieties you find here. Thank you.

At about 3 inches tall, this variety of mushroom was by far the tallest among those that I found in the woods. It had waxy, wet-looking, olive brown cap which was about the size of a quarter.

Daily Post:  Edible

WPC:  Collage 2

 

One thought on “MUSHROOMS IN BORDERLAND STATE PARK

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

