THE FLOWERS OF GERTRUDE BOYDEN

Cherry Blossoms

Tired of the usual walk-around-the-block that my husband and children do on weekends, my husband brought us to a nearby nature reserve, Gertrude Boyden Wildlife Refuge, for a change of scenery. I am surprised that we visited this place for the first time only last spring considering that it is only about three miles away from our house and we have been living in the area for years. Anyway, what a pleasant surprise this place was.

Dogwood

It was mid-spring when we visited. As it was, the place offered a lot of floral attractions. Well, there were the usual flowering trees of spring that I was familiar with. A few cherry blossoms were still in bloom. Pink and white dogwood greeted us as we drove into the parking lot.

Flowers are one of my favorite subjects to photograph.  I was more than thrilled to see flowers that I have not seen before, like the golden azalea-like flowers below that was growing on a tall bush  near the park parking lot.  Well, if it looks like an azalea and has the qualities of an azalea, maybe it is one.

What am I? Can you tell me who I am?

Then, there was the dark red flower whose petals look like a stiff armor from the way they stand upright. To me, it is completely exotic.

What am I?

A walk along the forest paths revealed more flowers overhead. Since I do not see these flowers planted in yards and city streets, I presume that they are not from the usual ornamental tree. Of course, I may be wrong.

What am I?

We came to a place called the fragrance garden. It looks like one cultivated in the ruins of an old house. The place was surrounded by what could have been walls of an old cottage. Jasmine and honeysuckle lent fragrance to the late afternoon breeze. Looking down, violets and flowering ground cover met our eyes.

Jasmine, yes?

As we meandered in the park,  we saw Lilies of the Valley peeking shyly from their broad foliage.  Once in while,  Pink Lady Slippers surprised us with her blushing face peeking out of the pine needle  covered ground.  Bunchberries and Canadian lilies, and unknown grew in the shade of the trees and along the paths.

Violets, for obvious reasons. 🙂

We got to the river and enjoyed the reflections of the woods on the water.  We could see clusters of water lilies with flower buds  farther away from the banks.  I promised to go back  to see them in full bloom.  Unfortunately, we missed the flowering window and the flowers were gone the next time we visited.  In the meantime, I had my fill of spring flowers.  I wish that I could pluck some for a vase or even our own garden.

What am I?

Just an aside, I am not much of a traveler and I do not have a lot of landscape pictures.  I am normally using a Nikon 5300 DSLR and a 55-200 mm lens.  It is not very well-suited for landscape shots because it does not “see” much but I find it perfect for taking flower shots and objects from a limited range.

Dogwood

I am participating in Light.co #VantagePoint project.  Light.co is a start-up company selling compact cameras which, according to company literature, has DSLR capabilities.  Wouldn’t that be awesome to have a lightweight camera that can possibly do a lot of things?  Right now, I find myself complementing my Nikon with my cellphone when I have to take wide-angle shots or to take really macro shots.  That can be the subject of another post.  Anyway, I did not receive any compensation for this post.  I just thought that the project is a fun project and the camera a very promising one.

 

Daily Post:  Pluck

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

